St Francis' Catholic Primary School

St Francis' Catholic Primary School

Together in Christ

Station Road, Nailsea, BS48 4PD

01275 855373



During the seven years at St. Francis, our mathematics curriculum will inspire every child to achieve and enable them to see themselves as a mathematician.

How do we aim to achieve this?
During their time at St. Francis, children will…

  • Learn to use and understand the correct mathematical terminology to describe
    their learning, e.g., multiples, factors, prime numbers.
  • Be encouraged to discuss and share their mathematical thinking with one
    another and their teachers.
  • Be taught a wide variety of mathematical concepts across the areas: number, geometry, measurement,
    statistics, algebra and ratio & proportion – and understand how concepts across and permeate each area.
  •  Learn to enjoy the challenge of mathematical puzzles and problems.
  • Learn to reason mathematically, working both on their own and collaboratively with other to do so.
  • Develop a positive, resilient attitude towards mathematics, appreciating that mathematics is a skill which
    everyone needs and wish is accessible to all.

Another thing we do to achieve our aim for all children to see themselves as a mathematician, is through providing a range of resources to support their learning of core mathematical skills and concepts, e.g., apps and
subscriptions. Some of these can be used at home, please see below a list of online resources which are available
to use at home to enable children to continue to be supported in Maths:

1-minute Maths App

Designed for use both in class and at home, this 1-minute maths app helps children build greater number confidence and fluency. It’s all about targeted practice in engaging, one-minute chunks!

Early Maths

Specifically for children in Reception - Sing along and learn all about numbers with the Numberblocks!

Other Useful Websites

Woodlands Maths Site

Top Marks

Mathematics National Curriculum

The links below show the statutory content for each year group from the national curriculum:

Year 1 national curriculum

 Year 2 national curriculum  

Year 3 national curriculum

Year 4 national curriculum

Year 5 national curriculum

Year 6 national curriculum

Back to the Top